For the average person, traffic tickets are tough to deal with. Defending against a traffic ticket takes time, potential trips to a courthouse, and knowledge of how to fight the ticket. If a driver loses, the driver might be subject to
1. a hefty fine, and/or
2. receiving a point on his or her driver's license.
A list of the point system in California can be found by clicking HERE.
When a point is added to a person's driver's license, it remains there for 3 years, which may cause an increase in insurance premiums and/or the loss of driving privileges if a driver collects three points in three years. The average person needs help to avoid all these potential problems.
That's where The Adrian Law Firm can help. The Adrian Law Firm can stand in to fight a ticket in multiple ways. Contact The Adrian Law Firm to help in your defense, or to simply discuss your options.
In Summer 2018, California passed an Assembly bill titled AB1824. Among other things, this changed the rules around what are commonly called “fix-it” tickets. Having a loud, modified exhaust used to be a “fixable” offense covered under California Vehicle Code Section 40610.
Unfortunately, AB1824 removed a noisy-exhaust violation (usually cited as a violation of VC 27150 or VC 27151) from being a correctable citation, and slapped it with a strict fine. But, if you get a ticket, is it the end? ABSOLUTELY NOT. You are still able to correct the violation before taking the car to a referee, and if an officer is not able to prove you were in violation of the law on your day in court, a judge should dismiss your ticket!
Don’t be a fool, however. Hire an attorney to represent you and present the facts, and the law to a judge, when that day comes.
View this video for more information:
DMV'S list of point offenses in California: HERE
Traffic school is an option for almost all moving offenses, and can keep a point from being added to your record, but you shouldn't immediately choose traffic school when faced with ticket. Traffic school is only available if you have not completed traffic school for another ticket within the last 18 months - meaning, if you choose traffic school option for a traffic ticket, that option is not available if you get another ticket in 1.5 years.
Fighting a traffic ticket, and winning, will keep traffic school as an option for your next ticket.
Here's what the California Rules of Court say about traffic school eligibility:
California Rules of Court 4.104:
(2)Ineligible offenses A court clerk is not authorized to grant a request to attend traffic violator school for a misdemeanor or any of the following infractions:
(A)A violation that carries a negligent operator point count of more than one point under Vehicle Code section 12810 or one and one-half points or more under Vehicle Code section 12810.5(b)(2);
(B)A violation that occurs within 18 months after the date of a previous violation and the defendant either attended or elected to attend a traffic violator school for the previous violation (Veh. Code, §§ 1808.7 and 1808.10);
(C)A violation of Vehicle Code section 22406.5 (tank vehicles);
(D)A violation related to alcohol use or possession or drug use or possession;
(E)A violation on which the defendant failed to appear under Vehicle Code section 40508(a) unless the failure-to-appear charge has been adjudicated and any fine imposed has been paid;
(F)A violation on which the defendant has failed to appear under Penal Code section 1214.1 unless the civil monetary assessment has been paid;
(G)A speeding violation in which the speed alleged is more than 25 miles over a speed limit as stated in Chapter 7 (commencing with section 22348) of Division 11 of the Vehicle Code; and
(H)A violation that occurs in a commercial vehicle as defined in Vehicle Code section 15210(b).